I'm new to this so............

Need help? Tips? Tricks? This is the place to ask any questions related to autograph collecting. New collectors, post your questions here!
leona_xx
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

I'm new to this so............

Post by leona_xx »

Can anyone tell me what I would need to sent a request to a celeb. I live in England so how many stamps would I need? would I need any other stamps? I really want to start collecting but I'm not sure how! :(
KellyMBel
$10 gift certificate winner

Post by KellyMBel »

First off definitaly include a letter. If you would like to increase your chances of getting something back, I would send a 9x12 SAE, and two IRCs. To lower to price to send it to the US I would fold the 9x12 SAE into a normal size envelope. I am not sure how much UK to US would cost, so next time when you go to the post office, I would ask.
barmy_army008

Post by barmy_army008 »

I think that for most of my letters to America, its been £1.05 (2 envelopes, a letter and a blank postcard).

I think thats like the 2nd 'band' of cost for a letter to America (something like a postcard may be cheaper still). I too would recommend that you get it weighed at a post office - that way they can print off the exact amount and you won't put too little or waste any stamps.

For letters within the UK, a 2nd class stamp is fine on both envelopes (they cover up to 60g). I wouldn't bother with first class stamps because they cost more and you won't really notice a few days here and there.
TheCollector

Post by TheCollector »

Hi all!

I totally agree with barmy_army008 and KellyMBel {up}

I have tended to go for the £1.05 option myself (with 2x IRC's for return envelope - if you are going to include them!)

Just thought I would post a price guide to give you an idea of post costs from the UK to Europe and the USA.