It is currently Thu May 23, 2013 5:21 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:44 pm
Posts: 44
Autographs received: 0
Collector since: 0
This seller sells autographs from Elvis to Britney to Johnny Depp to JFK.

Here is one:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TITANIC-PROPS ... 769wt_1182

They cost a LOT and always come with props.

Does anyone know anything about this guy? are his items real?

I read one post i could find after hours of searching on another site that said he sold a plate used in a 5 second scene, then 3 months latter sold the same thing again then again.

Opinions?


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:28 am 
Offline
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 4:32 pm
Posts: 1779
Autographs received: 0
Collector since: 0
I don't trust him at all. I would never buy props on Ebay.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:44 pm
Posts: 44
Autographs received: 0
Collector since: 0
twilightlover0607 wrote:
I don't trust him at all. I would never buy props on Ebay.


Yea i know what you mean. There is a seller on there who sells a lot of autographs and all positive reviews. He has videos of himself obtaining the autographs. I saw he had a Matt Damon signed Good will hunting photo, then sold it, a few months later he had the same photo on there with the same video, the autograph was in a different location though. So i assumed he was getting an autograph then making extra $$$ by reproducing it himself a and attaching the video.

This ebay guy that i just posted about. He has a lot of feedback, all positive.
But i have a Kate Winslet autograph i got myself and it looks NOTHING like the one on here.

I also wonder if he has that kind of access to film sets would he not be running his own business instead of paying ebay their insane fees.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:55 am 
Offline
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 9:14 pm
Posts: 3406
Location: OZ
Autographs received: 700
Collector since: 2006
There is a HUGE MARKET for movie props nowadays and I do believe some one them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 5:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 3:04 am
Posts: 75
Autographs received: 0
Collector since: 0
That looks nothing like their autographs and someone lost $830 when they thought they got a deal. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:34 am 
Offline
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:22 am
Posts: 1184
Location: USA
Autographs received: 125
Collector since: 0
The #1 rule when buying autographs...... don't buy off ebay

_________________
~Currently taking a break from collecting to focus on school~


Harry Potter Autographs: Tom Felton (IP), Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Alan Rickman, James & Oliver Phelps, Warwick Davis, Matthew Lewis, Shirley Henderson, Maggie Smith, Richard Griffiths, Scarlett Byrne, Robert Hardy, Mirriam Margoyles, Fiona Shaw, Gemma Jones, Hazel Douglas, Imelda Staunten, Harry Melling, Emma Thompson, Zoe Wanamaker, David Ryall, Isabella Laughland, Sophie Thompson, Ciaran Hinds, Julie Walters, Andy Linden, Jim Broadbent, Christian Coulson, Kenneth Branagh, Dave Legeno, Jessica Hynes, Bill Nighy, Jeff Rawle, Amelda Brown, Margery Mason, Natalia Tena, Helen McCrory, Bonnie Wright, John Hurt, Mateylok Gibbs, Chris Rankin & Terence Baylor

Check out my Harry Potter autographs (along with my entire autograph collection) here : http://tinyurl.com/6uafx5g


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:46 am 
Offline
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 9:14 pm
Posts: 3406
Location: OZ
Autographs received: 700
Collector since: 2006
Blackhawks026 wrote:
The #1 rule when buying autographs...... don't buy off ebay


There is ONE exception to that rule, only buy ebay posting that look like this with EXACT PHOTO proof. {up}

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HUGE-B-BS-JENNI ... 53ebc74d35


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:59 am 
Offline
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:22 am
Posts: 1184
Location: USA
Autographs received: 125
Collector since: 0
dancingirl1 wrote:
Blackhawks026 wrote:
The #1 rule when buying autographs...... don't buy off ebay


There is ONE exception to that rule, only buy ebay posting that look like this with EXACT PHOTO proof. {up}

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HUGE-B-BS-JENNI ... 53ebc74d35

Even exact proof doesn't cut it for me. The seller could have just printed off the same picture and forged the signature on there or even photocopy it and send you the copied version (although I imagine that'd be fairly easy to catch)

_________________
~Currently taking a break from collecting to focus on school~


Harry Potter Autographs: Tom Felton (IP), Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Alan Rickman, James & Oliver Phelps, Warwick Davis, Matthew Lewis, Shirley Henderson, Maggie Smith, Richard Griffiths, Scarlett Byrne, Robert Hardy, Mirriam Margoyles, Fiona Shaw, Gemma Jones, Hazel Douglas, Imelda Staunten, Harry Melling, Emma Thompson, Zoe Wanamaker, David Ryall, Isabella Laughland, Sophie Thompson, Ciaran Hinds, Julie Walters, Andy Linden, Jim Broadbent, Christian Coulson, Kenneth Branagh, Dave Legeno, Jessica Hynes, Bill Nighy, Jeff Rawle, Amelda Brown, Margery Mason, Natalia Tena, Helen McCrory, Bonnie Wright, John Hurt, Mateylok Gibbs, Chris Rankin & Terence Baylor

Check out my Harry Potter autographs (along with my entire autograph collection) here : http://tinyurl.com/6uafx5g


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:03 am 
Offline
Autograph Collector
Autograph Collector

Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 9:14 pm
Posts: 3406
Location: OZ
Autographs received: 700
Collector since: 2006
Blackhawks026 wrote:
Even exact proof doesn't cut it for me. The seller could have just printed off the same picture and forged the signature on there or even photocopy it and send you the copied version (although I imagine that'd be fairly easy to catch)


Yeah that is true. BUT if the sig looks like it is suppose to, it's real. And if someone over @ PSA place determines that it fake you can get your payment back. But like I always say people need to do research just to be safe. Because there are successful eBay dealers on there. But I Could see what u mean with their rep and all. {up}


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is this ebay sellers items real??? props+autographs.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:51 am 
Offline
Trainee Moderator - Chrissy's Team
Trainee Moderator - Chrissy's Team

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:55 am
Posts: 1358
Autographs received: 0
Collector since: 0
Blackhawks026 wrote:
The #1 rule when buying autographs...... don't buy off ebay


I have bought off ebay as a lot of charity auctions happen on there.
I also do a lot of research if I resort to ebay. (After many failed TTM attempts and no one on here sells it.) It then becomes pretty easy to spot a fake. I never buy anything too too cheap or without enough quality pictures. Ebay isn't always bad, if you know what you're looking for. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group